The Cookbook Cleanse

With this new year underway  it seems that everyone is in full resolution mode. I have never really been big into new years resolutions but this year somehow feels different. I have decided that this year will be better than the last; more exciting, more adventures, lots more tasty food, more great memories.

I know that one thing everyone seems to want to do once the clock strikes midnight is work off all the weight that seemed to find us between the holidays, if not more (myself included.) As much as I’d love to be one of those girls who can juice cleanse her way into her skinny jeans, when I don’t eat solid food I’m not someone you want to be trapped in close proximity to.

So instead I cleanse my comfort food cookbooks for healthier options. I also like to try and replenish my savings after all the christmas spending I’ve done so I hit up one of my favorite cookbook spots – the library!

Most libraries carry a decent selection of cookbooks or have the ability to acquire them for you through an inter-library loan system.  This is a great way to pick up some great reads that are light on your waistline and on your purse.  My rule of thumb is that if I like it and I cook 2-3 things out of the book then I’ll consider buying it.

Some of my favorites this season are:


When you trade a night out for a night in sometimes that can means your tastebuds suffer. Rebecca did a great job in creating this amazing book that helps you to eat well even on a budget. If I ever meet her, she’s getting a big-ol-hug. This is probably one of my favorite new cookbooks I’ve added recently.

Candice’s books have been a staple in my cookbook collection for years now. I love returning to them when I’m in the mood for something tasty and light; plus she has a lot of great health tips peppered in throughout this book. My favorite section is the one on date night meals – I’d love for a fella to make me a candle lit dinner. (Swoon.)

Homemade by Clodagh McKenna is simply wonderful. (How cute is the cover?) She has a little bit of everything in the book from homemade ketchup to Pine nut & Rosemary Crusted Lamb to homemade muesli. Next to her muesli recipe my she is responsible for one of my favorite brunch recipes – her Cinnamon French Toast with Honey-Vanilla Mascarpone (it’s my favorite lazy thing to make and makes me feel like I’m eating at one of my favorite spots Superba Snack Bar.)

So if you’re like me and rather would just spend one more day at the gym to offset the cookie you know you cannot pass up, I hope you’ll consider a cookbook cleanse instead.

Enjoy!

Sofia

Leave a comment