My Cooking Adventures with The Gourmandise School of Sweets and Savories

A lot of people, in my opinion anyway, are afraid of cooking or baking because it seems hard. It has a lot of points where you can go wrong and sometimes it is time consuming;  god forbid you put all that time in and your cookies more closely resemble hockey pucks than the mouth-watering picture on the box.

I know, I’ve been that person. I don’t like being bad at things, at least things I’m passionate about. I grew up  surrounded by sweets; I feel like there was always a baked good in the house. I remember when I first started trying to replicate the stuff I saw my mom making. It was a not pretty. My mom said I was the only person she ever met that made a cake fall, that came from a mix.

In addition to being a bit of a dork, I’m also stubborn. If people tell me that I cannot do something that I want to do, I see that as a challenge. I wanted to be able to make sweets and desserts that were not just edible, but were “oh my goodness” delicious. So after failing a bunch on my own with scattered successes I started to look into cooking classes and schools.

To my surprise culinary school was EXPENSIVE. So I sort of just kept up my trial and error method and would peruse yelp every now and again but never really committed to anything. It wasn’t until I moved out to LA that I found the came across The Gourmandise School of Sweets and Savories. They had great reviews on yelp, short drive away, not to outrageously priced. Sold.

Since embarking on that journey almost a year ago, I feel like I’ve gotten more confident. One thing the teacher, Clemence, would say during class is that the ingredients can smell your fear. I think she was right. I also think, that having someone there to guide you is super helpful.

So if you’re in the LA area I highly recommend looking them up and popping in for a class. You won’t regret it.

They have some delicious recipes you can check out here. Hope you’re grilling up a storm and making the most of your Labor Day.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

