Farfalle with a Brown Butter Sauce

I love pasta. If you read my post List-a-licious you’ll note that it’s number one on my list of things to learn to make. I’m still working on that, but I wanted to share a quick easy “dressing” with you guys who share my love of pasta.

For some reason, Farfalle seems fancy to me. Maybe it’s because they could be little bow-ties. For such a fancy pasta, it needs a fancy topping. When I’m in a hurry and want something easy but super tasty I make brown butter. If you haven’t heard of this phenomenon, brace yourself.

It’s really simple, for about a cup of pasta, take 1-2tbsp butter and cook it on med-high heat in a saucepan. You can also use any other pan you like, but preferably not one with a dark bottom because it makes it harder to see the brown flecks. You want to cook it, stirring often, until it goes clear and then the beautiful brown flecks will appear. You’ll know it’s ready by the smell. The aroma floats through the air and just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

For this dish I also added some steamed spinach, which you can do if you have a steam basket, on top of your pasta as it cooks. Two birds, one stone. You’ll have to lift it every so often, so that the water doesn’t boil over.

Just cook some pasta, according to the instructions given, add some greens, a bit of tomato. Maybe even some chicken if you have it handy. I like to top it with a bit of parmesan cheese. Then eat. It’s quick and easy way to make a tasty lunch or dinner. The best part is you can just make enough for you, or however many your serving. (In case you eat, party for one, style like me sometimes.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

