Banana Nut Muffins

It seems that I’ve developed a habit of having a banana nut muffin and Chai tea latte for breakfast on most mornings. It’s warm, cozy, and tasty way to kickstart my morning. I usually just grab one on my way to class, but it dawned on me that this is becoming a bit of an expensive habit to keep up and that I could just make some muffins at home.

So last night as I decided to follow through with this revelation, I got to do so to the sound of my boyfriend playing the banjo in the background. Despite what your preconceptions about banjo’s might be, it was really rather pleasant, in a completely unexpected way.

Banana Nut Muffins

2 Bananas (Smashed or Cubed to your liking)
1/3 cup melted browned butter
¾ cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 vanilla bean
1 tsp. baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 ½ cups flour
1 cup chopped walnuts

Yields 1 dozen delicious muffins.

[ Adapted From A Sweet Pea Chef]

In baking, there is actually method specially designed for muffins. It’s appropriately named, “the muffin method”. It’s pretty simple, the concept is that you keep all the dry and the wet ingredients separate until the last minute when you’ll combine them.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

1. Combine the salt, flour, and baking soda in a bowl. Whisk together.

2. Add the banana and melted butter together in a mixer and mix on the lowest setting.

You can mash the banana to your liking, if you like the tasty chunks just don’t mash as finely. I used browned butter in my recipe, but simply melting the butter will do. To make the brown butter you will simmer the butter until you see brown flecks appear at the bottom of the pan, you’ll also notice this by the distinct smell. It’s life changing.

3. Add in the sugar, egg, and vanilla bean.

I like to put the whole bean in and take it out right before I add the dry ingredients. It helps get all the flavor out.

4. Add the dry mixture to the wet until just combine, do not over mix.

5. Fold in the walnuts with a spatula.

6. Spoon into a lined muffin tin.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

