Oatmeal Scotchies, Yum!

First things first. Sorry I dropped off the planet here for a little while. Life just gets busy sometimes and you have to just roll with.

I was feeling the hurt, of not being able to bake for awhile, and ultimately broke down at about mid-night the other day and got my bake on.

I like to ask people at work what kinds of sweets they like, because it offers both a chance to do something new or perfect a classic, which is how I got the idea for this one. Plus it helps you make friends. Friends are good. This was my attempt at the Oatmeal Scotchie recipe that you can find on the back of the buterscotch chips from Nestle.

Oatmeal Scotchies

1 1/4 C  All Purpose Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1 C Butter or Margarine
3/4 C Granulated Sugar
3/4 C Brown Sugar
2 Eggs (LG)
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
3 C Oats
1 2/3 Butterscotch Chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
(If you see the recipe is says 375 but I think 350 works better).

Gather your ingredients before you bake! If you don’t have something if gives you time to gussy up a bit before knocking on your hot neighbors door for a cup of sugar. I don’t know if that would even work, I think the odds are pretty high that he might just think you’re a bit off. (If anyone tries and meets their future hubby, you’re welcome.)

I’m really excited about this next picture, because I get to introduce you to my new best friend. Henry. He was introduced into my life on my birthday this year, and I couldn’t be a happier girl.

(Henry in Action!)

Yeah, that’s right I got a kitchen-aid for my birthday. Yes, I did name it. (Maybe I’m the one that’s a bit off?) My boyfriend got it for me, and clearly is amazing.

Back to the baking.

Directions:

1. Gather the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a small bowl and the put that off to the side.

2. Put the butter and sugar in a bowl and cream together. (About 3-5 minutes) It will become light colored and fluffy. Then add the eggs, one at a time. Make srue that you’re scraping down the sides in between.

3. Add the vanilla extract. (They say that you could use the zest of 1 orange instead as well.)

4. Slowly stir in your dry mixture that you set aside earlier. MAKE SURE NOT TO OVER MIX! You want it to be just combined, which means you’ll still see some of the flour, it’s okay.

5. Gently stir in the butterscotch chips with a spatula.

6. Chill in the fridge for about an hour.

7. Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat approximately 1-2 or apart. (I had run out of both so I just greased my sheet with some baking spray.)

8. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Baking times you should really experiment with. It took me about 4 trial batches to find a time/temp combo that I liked. Each ovens slightly different and everyone likes their cookies a certain way so just use my recommendation as a benchmark and work from their. The original recipe said to do 7-8 minutes at 375 but I liked 10  at 350.

I think these turned out well, they got my creative juices going. Now I just have to figure out what to do with the bag of meyer lemons I have sitting on my counter.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

