Bon Appetit!

One thing that I am certain of, is that the world is not short of food bloggers. I don’t however view this as a bad thing, in fact just the opposite. To be able to cozy up with your internet connection and have a whole world of food at your fingertips is wonderful. It is my hope that I can do my part and share my culinary escapades.

I personally believe that everyone should have food that stimulates them, as a general rule the more senses engaged the better. (I’ve found that some things that look questionable taste absolutely delicious, so bravery is key.) I aim to include on this blog recipes, restaurant suggestions, books I’ve enjoyed, and things of a similar nature. Being that I live in the lovely Santa Monica|CA I feel privileged to have all these tasty restaurants and cafes near by. It seems a shame not to share the wealth.

For my first nibble of knowledge I’d like to share a quote from Julia Child, “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.” I’ve found this to be very true, especially when there are few ingredients involved. Less ingredients the recipe calls for the better quality it needs because that is where the flavor is coming from. This is one reason that farmers markets are a great place for getting ingredients, you can TASTE everything. Well, at least the ones I’ve been to in the U.S.

Farmers Market

(Photo by: Natalie Maynor )

I encourage you to go a look up a market near you and just go and taste the food. (Cheap date idea?) Most of the vendors can tell you all about what they’ve brought and how to know the difference in quality. The Kitchn has some good tips for picking fruit on their website. (Tips) One of my goals for this year was to (as much as possible) pick something new and tasty up when I go, and find a new recipe to try with it.

Let me know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Bon Appetit!

  1. I enjoy visiting my local fresh food market and i LOVE taking my bf there! We try everything we can possibly get our hands (and mouths) on haha. I’m a big fruit fan considering I add real fruit to my buttercream flavors.

    Love your post!

    -Myra

Leave a Reply

